The Stated Meeting was hosted by the Forest Hills Presbyterian Church in Grand Rapids, MI. The worship service was led by members of the Presbytery staff and was centered on the theme “Draw Us Near.” Rev. Chrissy Westbury, the Associate Presbyter of the Presbytery delivered the sermon. 

Highlights of the meeting included;


  • Draw Us Near, a reflection on Isaiah 40:1-11
    • Rev. Chrissy Westbury
  • Celebration of the Lord’s Supper
    • Rev. Chrissy Westbury and Rev. Fran Lane-Lawrence


  • 2023 Celebration of Saints 
  • Commissioning of General Assembly Commissioners
    • YAAD: Savannah Gildea, Schoolcraft First
    • TE: Rev. Stan Jenkins, Lansing First
    • TE: Rev. Lynette Sparks, Grand Rapids Westminster
    • RE: Eileen Best, Portage Westminster
    • RE: Brian Nederveld, Kalamazoo First
    • TE Alternate: Rev. Christopher Mergener, Niles First
    • TE Alternate: Rev. Chrissy Westbury, Kalamazoo First and PLM AP
  • Installation of Presbytery of Lake Michigan Moderator and Vice-Moderator


  • Consent Agenda
  • 2024 Proposed Budget and Narrative
  • Terms of Call for Executive Presbyter/SC
  • Terms of Call for Associate Presbyter 
  • Creative Ministries for Vulnerable Congregations Fund


Presbytery Officers 

  • Moderator of the Presbytery, Rev. Gail Monsma, Paw Paw Interim 
  • Vice Moderator of the Presbytery, Rev. Troy Hauser Brydon, Grand Haven 
  • Moderator of the Leadership Team, RE Paul Karsten, Grand Rapids Westminster

Commission on Ministry – North Region 

  • Rev. Laurie Hartzell, Member at Large, Class of 2026 

Commission on Preparation for Ministry 

  • RE Randy Thorburn, Paw Paw, Class of 2026 
  • Rev. Bill Pinches, Mason First, Class of 2026 

Leadership Team 

  • Rev. Lynette Sparks, Grand Rapids Westminster, Class of 2026 

Presbytery Staff – Treasurer  

  • RE Kirk Truesdell, Portage Westminster, 2024-2026

The next Presbytery meeting is scheduled for Saturday, March 9, 2024, at Kalamazoo First. The Keynote Speaker joining us will be Rev. Dr. Jonathan Walton, President of Princeton Theological Seminary.